Who May Receive Hospice Care?

The focus of hospice care is on pallative medicine and supportive services rather than the curative or cure-oriented therapies and interventions. Patients who have been certified with a terminal prognosis by the primary physician or hospice medical director are considered for the program. Hospice care is a covered Medicare benefit. Following the development of the Medicare Hospice Benefit, commercial insurance carriers began to offer hospice coverage.

Five Principles of Hospice Care

  • Respects the goals, likes, and choices of a dying person
  • Looks after the medical, emotional, social, and spiritual needs of the dying person
  • Supports the needs of the family members
  • Helps gain access to needed health care providers and appropriate care settings
  • Builds ways to provide excellent care at the end of life

Patient services are provided without regard to race, religion, age gender, sexual orientation,
disability (mental or physical), communicable disease, or place of national origin.

Close Menu